The 8.6 Blackout is not listed in SAAMI’s rifle (Z299.4), handgun (Z299.3) or rimfire (Z299.1) standards, so there is no SAAMI reference velocity, pressure limit or test barrel to quote for it. This guide charts what the makers of the loads we stock publish for them instead, and compares the 8.6 Blackout with the 300 AAC BLACKOUT, which SAAMI does standardise.
8.6 Blackout ballistics chart: manufacturer-published loads
These are the manufacturers’ own figures for specific loads we stock, taken from each maker’s page for the item number shown. There is no SAAMI reference for this cartridge, and each maker chose its own test barrel, so the figures should not be laid directly beside another brand’s.
Scroll the table sideways for the remaining columns.
| Load | Item no. | Bullet weight | Bullet | Muzzle velocity | Muzzle energy | Ballistic coefficient | Test barrel |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gorilla Ammunition Punisher Series Fracturing | GA86190PS | 190 gr | Punisher Series Fracturing | 2,000 fps | Not published | Not published | 12″ |
| Gorilla Ammunition Sierra MatchKing | GA86300SMK | 300 gr | Sierra MatchKing | 1,020 fps | Not published | .750, drag model not stated | 12″ |
| Gorilla Ammunition Sierra MatchKing | GA86300SMKSBB | 300 gr | Sierra MatchKing | 1,010 fps | Not published | .750, drag model not stated | 12″ |
| Gorilla Ammunition Barnes TSX | GA86210BTSX | 210 gr | Barnes TSX | 2,040 fps | Not published | Not published | 12″ |
| Gorilla Ammunition Barnes TSX | GA86210BTSXB | 210 gr | Barnes TSX | 1,925 fps | Not published | Not published | 12″ |
| Gorilla Ammunition Pork Shredder Copper Hollow Point | GA86342PS | 342 gr | Pork Shredder Copper Hollow Point | 1,000 fps | Not published | Not published | 12″ |
What the numbers mean for a shot
The 6 loads charted above, from Gorilla Ammunition, run from 190 to 342 grains, with published muzzle velocities of 1,000 to 2,040 fps. Each maker fired its load in its own test barrel, so a difference between two brands can come from the barrel as well as the load.
None of this is SAAMI data. Each product in our 8.6 Blackout ammo range lists whatever its maker publishes for that item.
Chamber and pressure
This page states no SAAMI pressure limit for the 8.6 Blackout. Fire 8.6 Blackout ammunition only in a firearm chambered for it, and follow both the ammunition maker’s and the firearm maker’s instructions. Several unrelated cartridges share a number, so match the full designation on the box to the marking on your barrel.
8.6 Blackout vs 300 Blackout: what the data supports
A like-for-like comparison needs both cartridges measured the same way. SAAMI standardises the 300 AAC BLACKOUT, so its figures come from one standard test barrel. The 8.6 Blackout has no SAAMI figures, so its numbers come from individual makers and their own barrels. The table sets them side by side with the source of each figure stated, and should be read that way.
Scroll the table sideways for the remaining columns.
| Specification | 8.6 Blackout | 300 AAC BLACKOUT |
|---|---|---|
| Listed by SAAMI | No | Yes |
| Maximum average pressure | Not published by SAAMI | 55,000 psi (SAAMI) |
| Bullet weights | 190 to 342 gr (loads we stock) | 90 to 220 gr (SAAMI reference loads) |
| Muzzle velocity | 1,000–2,040 fps (manufacturer-published, each in its own barrel) | 1,020–2,500 fps (SAAMI reference, 16.000 in test barrel) |
| Muzzle energy | Not published by these makers | 456–1,420 ft-lb (computed from SAAMI velocity) |
What this cannot settle is which cartridge is more powerful in your rifle: the two columns come from different sources and different barrels. We stock the other side of this comparison too: 300 Blackout ammo.
8.6 Blackout ballistics questions
Does SAAMI standardise the 8.6 Blackout?
No. SAAMI’s rifle, handgun and rimfire standards do not list the 8.6 Blackout, so there is no SAAMI maximum pressure, reference velocity or test barrel for it. The figures on this page are the ones each maker publishes for its own loads.
What muzzle velocity do manufacturers publish for the 8.6 Blackout?
For the 6 loads we stock from Gorilla Ammunition, the makers publish muzzle velocities from 1,000 to 2,040 fps, for bullet weights from 190 to 342 grains. Each maker measured its own load in its own test barrel, so these are not reference figures and are not directly comparable between brands.
Is the 8.6 Blackout more powerful than the 300 AAC BLACKOUT?
The two cannot be compared like for like, because SAAMI publishes reference data for the 300 AAC BLACKOUT but not for the 8.6 Blackout, and the makers of the 8.6 Blackout loads we stock publish no muzzle energy. The 6 loads charted publish muzzle velocities of 1,000 to 2,040 fps, against SAAMI reference velocities of 1,020 to 2,500 fps for the 300 AAC BLACKOUT.
What is the effective range of the 8.6 Blackout?
Effective range is not a published specification for the cartridge; it depends on the bullet, the load and the shooter. Where a maker publishes downrange velocity and energy for a load, the tables above show it, and only out to the last range that maker publishes.
How much does the 8.6 Blackout drop?
None of the makers of the loads we stock publishes a trajectory table for them, so this page gives no drop figure. Drop depends on the bullet’s ballistic coefficient and on the zero range, so use the figure a maker prints for the specific load.
Where to buy these loads
Hilltop Armory carries 8.6 Blackout ammunition from Gorilla Ammunition. Browse the full 8.6 Blackout ammo range.


